Search

Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Halogen Oven Recipes
Ads Links
HALOGEN OVEN SHOP

Cheapest deals for Halogen ovens, recipe books and accessories.

Enter shop > HALOGEN OVEN SHOP

This site uses cookies from Google to deliver its services.

By using this site, you agree to its use of cookies.

Learn More

Potato Croquettes Need Advice Please!!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Potato Croquettes Need Advice Please!!

Post  grannybarb on 04.02.11 14:40

Hi
I am new to Halogen oven cooking, I have only used the cooker once before so I would be grateful for some advice.

Tonight I am following a recipe for Pork in Orange Sauce which (after the initial browning) needs to be cooked in an oven proof dish on the low rack at 180c for 35 minutes. I have some Aunt Bessies frozen Croquette Potatoes which I would like to serve with the pork.

I am wondering if it would be ok to cook the croquettes on the high rack at the same time as the pork is cooking on the low rack.

Aunt Bessies cooking instruction for the croquettes in a conventional oven is 230c for 25 minutes, ... so I am wondering if it will work at 180 for 35 minutes on the high rack in the Halogen Oven.

Could somebody help me please!
Regards Barb

Last edited by grannybarb on 04.02.11 16:48; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : spelling)

grannybarb

THANK YOU : 0

Back to top Go down

Re: Potato Croquettes Need Advice Please!!

Post  junie on 04.02.11 16:52

Hi Grannybarb

Things on the bottom don't seem to cook through as well as on the high rack - I guess it's down to the air circulation. Using the high rack at the same time can slow it down further.

I would try either starting your pork off on the top rack for an extra 5-10 minutes then put it in the bottom with the croquettes on the top. I'm sure the croquettes would cook ok as you suggest at 180C for 30 - 35 mins.
The alternative would be to swap the dishes over part way through cooking.